Past Selections

Millersville University’s One Book program is designed to enhance a sense of community among students, staff, and faculty by stimulating discussion and critical thinking around a common reading.  The One Book One Campus committee seeks to select books that will engage and challenge incoming students on a specific topic or theme, while introducing them to new academic expectations.  Events to further explore the theme are held in the fall, often including an open forum by the author. Past One Book titles include:

2007-2008 The Color of Water by James McBride

2008-2009 A Long Way Gone: Memoirs of a Boy Soldier by Ismael Beah

2009-2010 The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime by Mark Haddon

2010-2011 Einstein’s Dreams by Alan Lightman

2011-2012 Enrique’s Journey by Sonia Nazario

2012-2013  The Influencing Machine by Brooke Gladstone

2013-2014    How Does It Feel to Be a Problem? Being Young and Arab in America by Moustafa Bayoumi

2014-2015  The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

2015-2016  Memory of Water

2016-2017 Disgraced: A Play by Ayad Akhtar

2017-2019 All American Boys

2019-2020 Homegoing