Friday, June 14th, 2024
Featured News

‘Ville Prof Awarded Teacher Educator of the Year Award

Millersville’s Dr. Scott Warner is joining an elite group of educators.

Millersville’s Dr. Scott Warner is joining an elite group of educators. He was recently  selected by his peers on the Council on Technology and Engineering Teacher Education (CTETE) to be the Technology and Engineering Teacher Educator of the Year for 2021. The CTETE is an affiliate organization of the International Technology and Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA). He was honored at the 83rd annual conference of the ITEEA.

Much to his surprise, Warner found out about his accomplishment when his colleague Dr. Sharon Brusic delivered the plaque to his house an hour before the ceremony.

“I was shocked and surprised when my colleague Sharon Brusic showed up at my door and immediately congratulated me for being this year’s winner of the award,” says Warner. “I think it took me a few minutes to collect my thoughts and actually say something coherent.  It is an honor to be recognized by my peers for the work I have done across my entire career.”

This year’s ITEEA conference was held virtually in March. The ceremony consisted of a short presentation created by Warner’s family and colleagues. Together, they created a surprise summary of his life and career through old photographs and other memorabilia.

Given out since 1956, the award recognizes one individual, nominated by the membership, who has made significant contributions in teaching, research and service within the profession. Warner has been at Millersville for 16 years, joining the Applied Engineering, Safety and Technology (AEST) faculty in the fall of 2004.

“Dr. Warner joins a unique group of successful Millersville faculty who have been recognized for this outstanding award. This includes Burl Osburn in 1957, George Ditlow in 1973, and Len Litowitz in 2006. Other faculty members who are or were at Millersville, include Sharon Brusic 2004 and Jim LaPorte 1991, who each received the award while they were at other institutions. Millersville has enjoyed a rich history of dedicated and nationally recognized technology teacher educators,” says Dr. Thomas Bell, a fellow AEST professor.

“Many of my predecessors in this award are men and women I have looked up to throughout my career. Several of them were my mentors. I would like to think that both my late father and great grandfather, who were both technology educators, would be proud of me for this accomplishment.”

In addition to this award, Warner has received numerous honors throughout his career.

These include:

  • Being named a Distinguished Technology and Engineering Professional (DTE) in 2021
  • The Lockette/Monroe Humanitarian Award at the ITEEA conference in 2020
  • The Laureate Citation in 2009 from the Epsilon Pi Tau International Honor Society
  • Being the co-recipient of the Sylvius-Wolansky Outstanding Publication Award in 2006 from CTETE
  • The Outstanding Teacher Award in 2004 from the Department of Technology at Ball State University
  • The Technology Teacher Excellence Award for the State of Indiana in 1999/2000

3 replies on “‘Ville Prof Awarded Teacher Educator of the Year Award”

Congratulations Scott on this well-deserved International award. Your department is rocking this recognition and your dedication is a banner of excellence for university educators but more importantly, the students receiving your teaching.

Great job, keep up the excellent work.

Leave a Reply