Sunday, June 16th, 2024

Millersville University Professor Elected President-Elect of AMS

This election outcome is a huge step forward for undergraduate-focused meteorology programs like Millersville’s.

Millersville University’s meteorology students are usually the largest contingent of students attending the annual meeting of the American Meteorological Society (AMS). When they attend the conference in 2021 and 2022 there will be a familiar face who will be helping to lead both the conference and the overall organization. Millersville’s own, Dr. Richard Clark. Clark, chair of Earth Sciences and professor of meteorology was elected as president-elect of AMS earlier this month.

“I believe his (Clark’s) election speaks volumes for the respect he has from among his disciplinary colleagues, that recognizes his scholarly accomplishments, his effective advocacy for the discipline, and the outstanding program he has helped develop and lead here at Millersville,” says Dr. Michael Jackson, dean of the College of Science and Technology at Millersville.

Alums and colleagues across the U.S. were quick to send their congratulations.

Peter Mullinax ’13, Millersville alum and meteorologist at the National Weather Service Prediction Center tweeted, “Congrats to Dr. Clark, Millersville’s Earth Science Department Chair! A foundational piece in not only an undergrad meteorology program that is & has been one of THE best in the country for years, but also a thriving Master of Science in Integrated Scientific Applications program.”

“Dr. Clark’s successful election for President of the AMS is a testament to his dedication to teaching and mentoring students, and his work to ensure undergraduate students could participate in major field campaigns—including the one that I was able to participate in under his leadership—NASA DISCOVER-AQ,” says alum Gina Mazzuca ’13. “This election outcome is a huge step forward for undergraduate-focused meteorology programs like Millersville’s.”

Dr. Ryan Stauffer, Millersville alum and NASA/GSFC research scientist studying air pollution and ozone tweeted, “Millersville Proud! Congratulations to new AMS President-Elect Dr. Richard Clark!”

Joe Calhoun, chief meteorologist for WGAL tweeted, “Congratulations to a fine colleague and a friend. Dr. Richard Clark of Millersville University.”

In addressing the AMS membership Clark said, “We come away from our centennial celebration a community with a shared vision of Building Within, Reaching Beyond, with renewed purpose and vigor, poised to confront the challenges that demand our attention as scientists, citizens and members of the AMS. It is a privilege to be able to serve my professional community in this capacity.”

You can read Clark’s entire plan for the AMS on their website.

As president-elect in 2021, Clark will automatically become AMS president in 2022. He will also serve in a leadership role as immediate past-president in 2023.

About Dr. Richard Clark
Clark’s research in boundary layers and air chemistry led to participation in
major field campaigns involving over 200 undergraduate students, among them, NARSTO-NEOPS (EPA), DISCOVER-AQ (NASA), OWLeS, PECAN, and SEAR-MAR (NSF). He has contributed to many educational opportunities, including the development of a concentration in Heliophysics and Space Weather, an M.S. in Integrated Scientific Applications to prepare business-ready scientists, and a Certification in Space Weather and Environment: Science, Policy, and Communication to advance understanding and communicate risks.

Clark is a Fellow of the AMS and was elected to Council (2008-11). As an AMS member for 33 years, his service includes the International Volunteering Program, Board of Higher Education, Nominating Committee, STAC and APT Committees, and as co-organizer of several AMS conferences, workshops, and symposia, including the First Student Conference. Student participation at AMS, AGU, NWA, WRMA, and agencies’ functions are central to Clark’s commitment to student success and the viability of these organizations.

Clark was elected to the UCAR Board of Trustees (2009-2015) and has served on all UCAR governance committees, strategic planning workshops, and search committees. His contribution to science advocacy, building relationships, and access to data and tools on behalf of the university community is manifest through leadership on UASC, PACUR, and Unidata Governance Committees. His collaboration with NCAR/EOL and COMET on SEGUE (NSF) will soon result in modules on instrumentation and measurement being available to the community. Clark also served on other NSF initiatives (e.g. EarthCube) and panels, notably as chair of the NSF/NCAR/EOL Observing Facilities Advisory Panel (OFAP).

Clark has a Ph.D. in atmospheric science from the University of Wyoming (’87) and is the recipient of the 2006 Russell L. DeSouza Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Unidata Community and the 2008 AMS Teaching Excellence Award.


Leave a Reply