Tuesday, July 23rd, 2024

Abousaif Wins Fraternity Leader of the Year Award

Gasser Abousaif recently won the 2020 Fraternity Leader of the Year award at the 2020 Marauder Leadership Awards.

Members of Phi Delta Theta, before COVID-19, present a check to “Live Like Lou” after their fundraising efforts.

Graduating with a Bachelor of Science in business administration with concentrations in marketing, management and international business and a minor in computer science, Gasser Abousaif excelled in his academic studies during his time at Millersville University (MU). He also brought change as a founding member of the Phi Delta Theta fraternity at MU.

Abousaif recently won the 2020 Fraternity Leader of the Year award at the 2020 Marauder Leadership Awards. The recent graduate was recognized for the work he completed as a part of the Phi Delta Theta fraternity.

MU’s chapter of Phi Delta Theta was formed in fall 2017 after one of Abousaif’s friends, John Carrasquillo, transferred from another school and missed the organization. The group recruited students that matched the core values of the fraternity. Abousaif was one of those initial recruits. The group recruited 25 students to establish a colony in fall 2017.

“People don’t know how hard it is to build a fraternity from the ground up,” says Abousaif. “We spent two years building the group until we became official in spring 2019. We had to use teamwork to build a foundation while learning what a fraternity is.”

Pre-COVID-19; From left to right, Dr. Douglas Frazer, Gasser Abousaif, President Wubah, Renee Drawbaugh and Provost Prabhu.

During his time at MU, Abousaif helped officiate the fraternity through his work as the vice president. He worked with his friend and the founding president Matthew Hudak to create a petition to become an official chapter of Phi Delta Theta.

“When building the fraternity, we had to figure out a lot on our own, like what board positions would we create and how many. We made a lot of trips to the Phi Delta Theta headquarters,” he says.

When it came to the Marauder Leadership Award nominations, the fraternity decided to nominate various members who deserved recognition. This is the second year in a row that a member of Phi Delta Theta has won the Fraternity Leader of the Year award, the founding president Hudak won in 2019. Abousaif was surprised by his win but excited to continue the legacy of the Brotherhood.

Members of the fraternity, Phi Delta Theta, prior to the pandemic.

“There is nothing more fulfilling than being a part of something that is greater than yourself,” he says. “I couldn’t be prouder to be one of the 35 Founding Fathers of the Phi Delta Theta Fraternity chapter at Millersville University. After a tremendous amount of work and challenges, my brothers and I were able to start a fraternity on our campus, establish it as a full chapter and leave behind an impactful legacy. I wouldn’t change a single thing about my experience at Millersville. Proud to be a Phi and a Marauder!”

Members of Phi Delta Theta hold their flag, prior to COVID-19.

During his time at MU, Abousaif was involved with other clubs such as the National Society of Leadership and Success, Millersville Robotics Team, Student Business Association and Enactus. Since graduating in May, he hopes to continue what he learned at MU and as a part of these organizations by working in the marketing field and starting graduate school.

More information about MU’s chapter of Phi Delta Theta can be found at https://getinvolved.millersville.edu/organization/PhiDelt. A full list of the 2020 Marauder Leadership Award winners can be found at https://blogs.millersville.edu/villedaily/files/2020/04/2019-2020-Marauder-Leadership-Award-Winners-KB.pdf.








Leave a Reply