Friday, March 24th, 2023
Past Events

NBS Brings Home Awards

Lots of awards including honorable mention for the 2016 National Chapter of the Year

Sixteen students from Millersville University’s National Broadcasting Society (NBS) brought home awards and nominations at this year’s national conference in New York City, March 21-26, 2017. NBS is a national student organization that aims to enhance the development of college students preparing for careers in media industries. NBS connects students with practicing professionals; emphasizes industry ethics, diversity and inclusiveness; and promotes opportunities for excellence in leadership, community service and media production. Students attending this year’s convention toured 1010 WINS, a CBS radio station and other media companies in NYC, listened to media professionals and peers give presentations, and two students from the chapter were chosen to attend a job fair for Bloomberg Television News and Fox News.

The 2017-18 chapter president, Britny Main and the 2016-2017 chapter president Ryan Schmucker accepted the honorable mention award for the 2016 National Chapter of the Year Award. The chapter also received the Model Chapter Award, which highlights chapters who complete a series of activities, including community service activities, networking events and campus activities like the High School Video Day. The Millersville chapter of NBS has 67 members.

NBSLeadership_2017 Awards
NBS Leadership Britny Main, Brittany Wier, Ryan Schmucker and Jeff Harrison

Individual students from the Millersville’s NBS chapter were also nominated in several categories in competition with 27 other colleges and universities. Erica Pfeiffer and Eric Shewchuk received a nomination in the PSA category and Erica Pfeiffer also received a nomination in the Chapter Website category.

The students were accompanied by their advisor, Dr. Stacey Irwin, associate professor in the Department of Communication and Theatre.


Leave a Reply