Sunday, February 25th, 2024

2016–17 Educator of the Year Announced

Mehmet Goksu is Educator of the Year at Millersville

The Millersville University Faculty Senate and the Educator of the Year Award Selection Committee have selected Dr. Mehmet Goksu as the 2016-17 Educator of the Year.

Goksu joined the physics department at Millersville University in 2007. Since then, he has taught a wide range of physics courses from introductory through upper-level courses. Both his colleagues and students mention his outstanding ability to present  difficult materials in a clear, detailed and accessible manner and to further be able to connect the material with students’ real life experiences. His generosity and willingness to assist students is evidenced through his implementation of Online Help Centers on Sunday evenings and Physics on Demand on Thursday evenings. These live video chat sessions allow students to reach out to him if they need extra assistance with their class material or homework assignments.

Goksu is deeply involved in students’ professional and personal successes through his advising role of three MU clubs: the MU Robotics Team, the Rugby Club and the Physics Demonstration Team. He is heavily invested in developing students’ academic excellence by supervising a versatile list of student research studies, including experimental, theoretical, computer simulations and pedagogical projects.

The Educator of the Year Award is given annually to one faculty/staff member in recognition of sustained outstanding teaching, to include counseling, mentoring, and advising of the undergraduate and graduate students at Millersville University.  For more information on the Educator of the Year Award and a list of past winners, visit

Members of the Educator of the Year Award Selection Committee are: Dr. Kathy Brabson (Alumna); Dr. Pérsida Himmele (Department of Early, Middle and Exceptional Education), Olivia Legenstein (Undergraduate Student), Tatiana Pashkova-Balkenhol, chair (Library), Prof. Jeri Robinson (Art and Design), Mary Sotomayor (graduate student), and Dr. Michael Wismer (Mathematics).








Leave a Reply