Monday, September 26th, 2022
Need to Know

2015-16 Educator of the Year Award

Dr. Sepi Yalda “brings out the best in her students.”

Dr. Sepi Yalda

The Millersville University Faculty Senate and the Educator of the Year Award Selection Committee are pleased to announce Dr. Sepideh Yalda as the 2015-16 Educator of the Year.

Yalda is a professor of meteorology, the Director of the Millersville University’s Center for Disaster Research and Education (CDRE), and serves as the Coordinator for the Master of Science in Emergency Management (MSEM) program.   Additionally, she serves as the program director for the undergraduate degree in Multidisciplinary Studies with a focus on Environmental Hazards and Emergency Management (MDST), and the Minor in Environmental Hazards and Emergency Management (EHEM).  Her research interests are in the areas of climate dynamics and regional climate change and information technology.

She has taught over 15 different courses at Millersville, and current and former students praised Yalda for the amount of energy she invests in classes as well as her advising and mentoring.  Yalda’s courses have a reputation for high rigor, Yalda brings out the best in her students and they end up enjoying the hard work she requires.  Beyond her exemplary instruction, she has demonstrated extraordinary commitment to Millersville’s vision of transforming each learner’s unique potential into the capacity for successful engagement in career and life opportunities.  Many former students attributed the success they have had in their careers not only to what they learned in classes, but to Yalda’s mentoring, which often extends years past graduation from MU.

The Educator of the Year Award is given annually to one faculty/staff member in recognition of sustained outstanding teaching, to include counseling, mentoring, and advising of the undergraduate and graduate students at Millersville University.  Further information of the Educator of the Year Award and a list of previous awardees can be found at:

Members of the Educator of the Year Award Selection Committee are: Dr. Onek Adyanga (History); Dr. Kathy Brabson (Alumna); Dr. Sam Earman, chair (Earth Sciences); Elijah Green (undergraduate student); Dr. Pérsida Himmele (Department of Early, Middle, and Exceptional Education); Brooke Magni (graduate student); and Tatiana Pashkova-Balkenhol (Library). 


One reply on “2015-16 Educator of the Year Award”

Leave a Reply