2013 Distinguished Civic Leadership Awards Nomination

The Civic and Community Engagement and Research Project (CCERP) is soliciting nominations for annual awards to be made at its Civic Engagement Recognition Event on April 11, 2013.

The purpose of these awards is to publicly recognize notable civic/community contributions on the part of individuals and entities that have had a positive impact locally, regionally, nationally or internationally. 

Nominees may fall into one of the following eligible categories:

  • be a local, regional or national or international figure
  • an MU faculty or staff member
  • an MU student
  • an MU alum
  • a non-MU student (including pre-college)
  • a nonprofit organization
  • a corporation or other business entity; or institution, including schools but not governmental agencies.

It is requested that you make a nomination(s) by completing the nomination form found at the link provided. Responses are due by March 18, 2013.


Interim Leadership Arrangements for the Division of Information Resources

This note was sent to the University community on January 29 from the Office of the Provost:

We write to let you know about interim leadership arrangements for the Division of Information Resources. As you know, Vice President Chip German will be leaving Millersville to assume a new role at the University of Virginia on February 15. Effective that day, Vice President for Finance and Administration Roger Bruszewski will assume responsibility for the Division of Information Resources on an interim basis until incoming President John Anderson (who arrives on April 1) determines new leadership for the division. Meanwhile, the division will continue its full array of projects and initiatives. The plan for interim leadership was developed by Cabinet, and it has been approved by Acting President James McCollum and reviewed with President Anderson.

The Division of Information Resources comprises the University Library (which includes the Library Faculty department), the Department of Information Technology and an information security function reporting to the VP. Specific leadership responsibilities for those areas will be assigned as follows:

University Library:

 General Library Administration: Bruszewski and Library Business Coordinator D’Ann Ressler

 Library Academic Matters: Dr. Vilas Prabhu, provost and vice president for academic affairs; Dr. Jeff Adams, associate provost for academic administration; and Library Faculty Department Chair Jessica George. Adams will assume the role of the dean for faculty matters

Library Transition to Renovated Building: Bruszewski and Library faculty members Marilyn Parrish and Greg Szczyrbak

Department of Information Technology:  Mr. Bruszewski and Assistant Vice Presidents Gail Childs and Veronica Longenecker

Information Security: Bruszewski and Information Security Coordinator Greg Schmalhofer

Any questions about how specific operational matters will be handled may be directed to Gail Childs and Veronica Longenecker in Information Technology and D’Ann Ressler in the Library. 

Leave a comment