Dr. Francine G. McNairy

Millersville’s fall commencement ceremony will be held on December 16 at 2 p.m. in Pucillo Gymnasium. President Francine G. McNairy will be the keynote speaker. McNairy will retire from the University in January 2013.

Appointed as the 13th president of Millersville Universityin 2003, McNairy serves as the chief executive officer of the University with oversight of a $136 million budget, 1,000 employees and 8,700 undergraduate and graduate students. During McNairy’s tenure as president, she presided over a number of institutional accomplishments, which included a focus on securing new revenue sources through the $85 million Soar to Greatness capital campaign concluding on December 31.

Stephen Kepchar and Bennett Cooper, both Millersville alumni, will each receive honorary doctorate of humane letters degrees. Millersville grants honorary doctoral degrees to individuals of extraordinary accomplishments. As an academic institution, Millersville grants its highest honor to those individuals who have shown remarkable creativity or distinguished themselves through service or scholarship.

Kepchar, a 1970 graduate, is senior vice president for Morgan Stanley and chair of Millersville’s Soar to Greatness campaign. Cooper, a 1967 graduate, is senior distribution consultant for Rampart America and vice chairman of the Soar to Greatness campaign.

For more information on December’s commencement, visit millersville.edu/commencement.

Leave a comment