Thursday, July 25th, 2024
Featured News News

New Police Chief Sworn In

On Monday, February 28, Peter J. Anders was sworn in as the Chief of Police for Millersville University.

Peter J. Anders being sworn in as the new Chief of Police.

Three police chiefs were on hand at Bolger Conference Center on Monday night, February 28, to witness Peter J. Anders sworn in as the Chief of Police for Millersville University’s Police Department. Chief John Rochat, Millersville Borough Police Department; Chief Keith Sadler, Lancaster City Police Department and retired Millersville University Chief of Police, Wayne Silcox, all took part in the ceremony. Dr. Aminta Hawkins Breaux, vice president of student affairs, presided over the ceremony and the Honorable Leo H. Eckert, Jr., District Justice, conducted the official swearing in.

Anders has 20 years of law enforcement experience including most recently serving as captain of the criminal investigative division for Lancaster City Police. Anders has been with Lancaster City Police since 1990. During that time he has moved from serving as an officer in various units to becoming a detective, sergeant, lieutenant and now a captain. He has won numerous awards including the 2010 and 2000 Kauffman Award, the 2009 Steven Mentzer Award and the 1998 Lancaster County Human Relations Commission Officer of the Year Award.

Check out more pictures from the ceremony below:

Chief Anders being saluted by Detective Michael J. Gerace of the Lancaster City Bureau of Police - Criminal Investigations Division - Violent Crimes Unit.
Chief Anders shares this special moment with his wife.
Retired Chief of Police Wayne Silcox being presented with a shadowbox of memories.

Leave a Reply