PERC Campus Sustainability Champion: Nomination Period Open

Do you know a campus sustainability champion at Millersville? A member of faculty or staff or a student that goes the extra mile to make the space around them a little more sustainable?  If so, please consider nominating them for the Pennsylvania Environmental Resource Consortium’s (PERC) Campus Sustainability Champion award.

Through the Campus Sustainability Champion award, PERC annually recognizes individuals that have made meaningful contributions that benefit social, economic, and/or environmental sustainability on campus, in the community, or to society at large. Contributions can be in the areas of teaching, research, co-curricular programs, campus culture, community service, and campus operations.

As a PERC Member School, Millersville can make two nominations—one student and one non-student. Millersville’s Office of Sustainability will accept nominations and select the individuals that will be submitted to compete for the PERC Campus Sustainability Champion award. Select nominees will be invited as panelists for the Sustainability Champions Session at the annual PERC Conference being held on October 24th, 2016 at Penn State.

To nominate an individual, please send the name of the individual (or group), their email address and phone number, and a short paragraph (less than 200 words) describing why the individual deserves to be recognized as a Campus Sustainability Champion to Millersville’s Sustainability Manager, Chris Steuer ( by Friday, September 16th, 2016.

PERC’s Campus Sustainability Champion guidelines can be found here. Please note that Millersville’s nomination deadline is September 16th, 2016 to allow time for selecting a nominee to submit to PERC.

For a list of last year’s PERC Campus Sustainability Champions, including Millersville’s Director of Dining and Conference Services, Ed Nase, see here.

This entry was posted in Sustainability and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *