AEST Students Honored for Their Research & Applied Project Accomplishments

The spring 2023 semester marked the conclusion of Millersville University students’ high-impact educational experiences in student/faculty research. To highlight the significance of these experiences, the College of Science and Technology honored AEST students (along with other students in the College) at the 20th annual Dr. Edward C. Shane Undergraduate Student Research Recognition Ceremony. This honor, given to students who successfully conducted undergraduate research with supervising faculty in the College of Science and Technology, recognizes their efforts at independently collecting, analyzing, and interpreting data to answer a novel research question or provide a unique solution to an applied problem.

Receiving this award is a significant accomplishment and a testament to the high-quality education and mentoring provided by the AEST department. The recognition also highlights our department’s commitment to fostering a culture of academic excellence and encouraging students to pursue their passions through research in applied engineering, safety, and technology. Congratulations to all the award recipients for their outstanding achievements!

Joshua Greineder, junior ARET major, proudly displays his award with Dr. Marc Harris, Dean of the College of Science and Technology.
Dr. John Haughery (L) congratulating Elias Peluso, senior RCS major, on his outstanding research work.

AEST Students Receiving College of Science an Technology Research Certificates:

  • Benjamin Ambler: Using multiple industrial LiDAR systems to develop a digital array for advanced object detection (independent study)
  • Nathan Brady:  Explorations in Industrial Hygiene (independent study)
  • Daniel Carpenter: The Integration of Infrared Camera (IR) Sensor Technology with Machine Vision and Microcontrollers for Detection of Fire (thesis)
  • Joshua Greineder: Developing Vision-Based Environmental Awareness (independent study, pictured above)
  • Zachary Jackson: STEM Tools (independent study)
  • Joseph Kennedy: Exploring 2D TMDs for Solar Cell Applications (thesis)
  • Elias Peluso: Design and Development of a Modular Door Acutator (thesis, pictured above)
  • Ian Troop: Distributed Mobile Robotic Control & Dual LiDAR Systems Integration (independent study)
  • Hannah Woelfling: Elementary Bio-Related STEM (independent study)
  • Ermias Wagari: Automated Sensor Calibration and Filtering Algorithm Development (independent study)

– Contributed by Dr. John Haughery


AEST Picnics on the Patio!

On Thursday, April 27, 2023, the student organizations threw their end-of-semester bash, Picnic on the Patio. Each spring the nine student organizations pull together to have a picnic lunch on the quad in front of Osburn Hall. The nine student organizations are the American Society of Safety Professionals, MU CADD Club, The Construction Club, Epsilon Pi Tau, Marauder Graphics, The National Society of Black Engineers, MU Robotics Team, The Society of Manufacturing Engineers, and MU-TEECA.

The Picnic took place during the common hour and included hot dogs, various side dishes, drinks, and Dr. Johnson’s legendary baked beans. New to the festivities this year was a hot dog eating skill challenge.  Sophomore Camdyn Brunner (dual ARET and MFET major) took top honors in the competition.  Congratulations Camdyn for your accomplishments both outside and inside of the classroom!

Everyone had enough to eat, and the faculty and staff of AEST hopes that all student have a happy and productive summer.

AEST Student Named Campus Compact Newman Civic Fellow

Jordan Branch has been named as a 2023-2024 Campus Compact Newman Civic Fellow. Millersville University President Daniel Wubah provided these remarks about Jordan in his nomination:

“Jordan Branch, a Manufacturing Engineering Technology major with a minor in Occupational Safety and Environmental Health, is an exceptional student dedicated to community service, a respected leader among his peers, and a role model for engagement, not only at Millersville University, but in the greater Lancaster County community as well. Jordan, a first-generation college student, serves as vice-president of three student professional associations – demonstrating his commitment to promoting a sense of community and engagement at the university. He is passionate about equity and addressing disparities in his community. Jordan is also strongly motivated to address public problems, using his leadership role in the student chapter of the National Society of Black Engineers to collaborate with three non-profit community partners to coordinate a winter coat drive for the Lancaster community. Jordan exemplifies excellent leadership skills, he engages in collaborative action with others from campus and the community, and he has a strong desire to create long-term social change.”

Congratulations Jordan!

Campus Compact is a national nonprofit organization. We are the largest and oldest higher education association dedicated to higher education civic and community engagement. Our members make up a force of thousands of presidents, faculty, researchers, students, and civic and community engagement experts at colleges and universities. Campus Compact takes a comprehensive approach to supporting member institutions—helping them build the knowledge, skills, and capacity needed to enable a just, equitable, and sustainable future.