2022 TEEAP Scholarship and Awards & AEST Department Awards

Several awards and scholarships were presented during the luncheon at the 2022 TEEAP Back to Basics conference on October 21, 2022. The association is proud to recognize the following individuals for their service and contributions to the growth of the profession.

The William J. Wilkinson Scholarship

Cole A. WInters, freshman Technology & Engineering Education major, Millersville University. Dr. Len Litowitz AEST department chair and Brandt Hutzel, PDE’s Technology & Engineering Education Content Advisor are also pictured.

The  William J. Wilkinson scholarship is for a high school graduate who has been enrolled in an undergraduate technology education teacher education program in Pennsylvania. The applicant must submit an application describing his or her educational background and noteworthy achievements. In addition, reasons should be explained for wanting to become a technology education teacher. A minimum of three recommendations from individuals must be submitted, with at least one from a high school technology education teacher. The applicant’s scholastic achievements, leadership abilities and talents for becoming an effective technology education teacher should be described. It is the applicant’s responsibility to see that all materials are forwarded by the deadline. The application and recommendations may be submitted under separate cover.

Michael Whitman Memorial Outstanding Service Award

Donna Painter, AEST Professor and content are coordinator is pictured with Brandt Hutzel, PDE’s Technology & Engineering Education Content Advisor

The Outstanding Service Award award is presented to current member involved in the Technology & Engineering Education profession as a classroom teacher, supervisor, administrator or teacher educator. The recipient must be perceived by his or her peers and colleagues as performing daily duties in an excellent or superior manner. They must have demonstrated consistent professional interest and leadership during the previous three years and have been involved in special activities and made significant contributions to technology and engineering education within the past year.

Mrs. Donna Painter, Millersville University professor, AETM coordinator, TEEAP Publications Coordinator, and conference committee member was chosen as this year’s recipient of the Michael Whitman Memorial Outstanding Service award. Mrs. Painter has helped to prepare many Technology & Engineering Education Teachers during her career, as well as providing essential and excellent service to the association in her many roles including Publications and conference organization.
The Department of Applied Engineering, Safety & Technology also presented awards. These awards used to be delivered at an evening social, but this was  changed to the Friday luncheon this year. The AEST awards are as follows:

Mentor Award

Mr. Tom Care
Conestoga Valley High School 

The Mentor Award is presented in recognition of exceptional mentoring of teacher candidates and longstanding commitment to the preparation of the next generation of Technology & Engineering Education teachers.

Presented by Dr. Sharon Brusic




Emerging Leader Award

Mr. Justin Egresitz 
Class of 2022

The Emerging Leader Award is presented in recognition of outstanding leadership, commitment, and service to Technology and Engineering Education by a young professional.

Presented by Dr. Sharon Brusic




Innovative Educator Award

Ms. Jocelyn Long
Downingtown STEM Academy

The Innovative Educator Award is presented in recognition and celebration of extraordinary talent, creativity, ingenuity, and enthusiasm by an innovative teacher in the field of Technology and Engineering Education.

Presented by Dr. Scott Warner





Lifetime Achievement Award

Ms. Joanne Trombley
J.R. Fugett Middle School

The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented in recognition of extraordinary leadership, sustained commitment, and exceptional dedication to the advancement of Technology and Engineering Education over many decades.

Presented by Dr. Len Litowitz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *