2022 TEEAP Scholarship and Awards & AEST Department Awards

Several awards and scholarships were presented during the luncheon at the 2022 TEEAP Back to Basics conference on October 21, 2022. The association is proud to recognize the following individuals for their service and contributions to the growth of the profession.

The William J. Wilkinson Scholarship

Cole A. WInters, freshman Technology & Engineering Education major, Millersville University. Dr. Len Litowitz AEST department chair and Brandt Hutzel, PDE’s Technology & Engineering Education Content Advisor are also pictured.

The  William J. Wilkinson scholarship is for a high school graduate who has been enrolled in an undergraduate technology education teacher education program in Pennsylvania. The applicant must submit an application describing his or her educational background and noteworthy achievements. In addition, reasons should be explained for wanting to become a technology education teacher. A minimum of three recommendations from individuals must be submitted, with at least one from a high school technology education teacher. The applicant’s scholastic achievements, leadership abilities and talents for becoming an effective technology education teacher should be described. It is the applicant’s responsibility to see that all materials are forwarded by the deadline. The application and recommendations may be submitted under separate cover. Continue reading “2022 TEEAP Scholarship and Awards & AEST Department Awards”

Excellence Awards Presented at 2022 TEEAP Conference

The 2022 TEEAP-STEM Back to Basics conference was hosted by AEST on October 20-22, 2022.  On Friday a luncheon was held at the Student Memorial Center where the following program and individual awards were presented:

The Program Excellence Award is presented by the International Technology & Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA) and the Technology & Engineering Education Association of Pennsylvania (TEEAP). This Excellence Award is of the highest honors given to Technology and Engineering Education programs on the elementary, middle, and high school level. It is presented in recognition of outstanding contributions to the profession. The Program Excellence Award provides public recognition on a local state level through TEEAP. If the recipient meets the criteria to be forwarded to ITEEA, these programs also receive recognition on a national and international level.

The Teacher Excellence Award is one of the highest honors given to Technology and Engineering Education classroom teachers and is presented in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the profession and their students. The Teacher Excellence Award provides public recognition on a local state level through Technology & Engineering Education Association of Pennsylvania (TEEAP) and is presented at the Annual TEEAP Conference. In addition, if the recipient meets the criteria to be forwarded to International Technology & Engineering Educators Association (ITEEA), these teachers also receive recognition on an national and international level. The honoree is then also formally presented with an engraved plaque and other recognition at ITEEA’s Annual Conference. Continue reading “Excellence Awards Presented at 2022 TEEAP Conference”

AEST steps off in the Millersville Parade

AEST was well represented in this year’s Millersville Parade. The two-mile-long parade starts Homecoming Saturday’s events, winding through the community to its final destination at the Student Memorial Center.

Len Litowitz, department chair, was in the first division of the parade driving his 1923 International Harvester fire engine. He was chauffeuring several members of the 2021-22 American Society of Safety Professionals’ Outstanding Student Section (read about that here) and their advisor, Betty-Jo Bowers.

Later in the parade, the AEST’s student chapter of the Society of Manufacturing Engineers marched through with their BAJA buggy. This off-road capable vehicle was built to participate in the Baja SAE to demonstrate its ability to perform in punishing and rough terrain environments. More information and photos can be found on their Facebook page by following this link.

2015 Graduate honored as a Philadelphia Eagles/Nouryon All-Pro Teacher

Dan Lingle, Northern Lebanon Technology & Engineering Education Teacher

Dan Lingle is a 2015 graduate of the Technology & Engineering Education program, and he has been recognized as a 2022 Philadelphia Eagles/Nouryon All-Pro teacher. For the past eight years, the All-Pro teacher program has honored 5th through 12th grade teachers in the Greater Philadelphia region for their commitment to education.

You can view Dan’s comments on the All-Pro Teacher’s Web site by going to www.philadelphiaeagles.com/community/allproteachers/


What does it take to be nominiated?

Definition of a Nouryon All-Pro Teacher is someone who:
– Uses creative out-of-the-box teaching methods to inspire student ingenuity
– Bases projects on real-world examples
– Empowers students to bring their ideas to life in tangible ways
– Is a role model for their students in and out of the classroom
– Develops critical thinking skills and tolerance for diverse perspectives that drive success in all academic subjects
– Challenges and engages students through a unique and collaborative curriculum
– Is a steward of new ideas of academics and helps to foster creative thinking
– Has passion for their work and brings it out in their students
– Encourages their students to pursue their own personal curiosity

Do you know a teacher who fits the criteria? If so, you can nominate them at the All-Pro Teachers site: www.philadelphiaeagles.com/community/allproteachers/nominate

  • – Contributed by Sharon Brusic

Graphic & Packaging Students Shine at Neographics!

On Thursday, October 6, 2022, three Millersville students received awards at the Graphic Arts Association (GAA) 2022 Neographics Exhibition & Awards Show. Neographics is a showcase annual event for the printing, packaging, and digital communications industries of Pennsylvania, Central and Southern New Jersey, and Delaware.  This year’s event was held at the Cescaphe Ballroom in Philadelphia and the theme was Celebrate Print!

Pictured (L-R) with their awards Julia Meassick, Kaylena Travitz, and Lauren Walsh.Graphic Communication senior, Julia Meassick’s entry Moonstruck received a Best of Category Award in the “College Student – Tags & Labels Flexo” category.

Packaging Engineering senior Kaylena Travits’ entry The Hook received the “Student” Best of Category Award.

Lauren Walsh a Graphic Communication senior was recognized with a Franklin Award of Excellence for her entry Citron in the “College Student – Tags & Labels Flexo” category.

All three students completed the projects they entered during their spring 2022 Packaging and Specialty Printing course. Congratulations to all three students on their success.

-Submitted by Mrs. Donna Painter