OSEH 40th Anniversary Celebration

In 1970, the Occupational Safety and Health Act was signed into law, creating the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) and the National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). As both OSHA and NIOSH celebrate 50 years of helping to keep American workers safe and healthy, the Millersville University Applied Engineering, Safety & Technology Department (AEST) marks the 40th Anniversary of the Occupational Safety and Environmental Health (OSEH) Program!

On April 28, 2021, which coincided with International Workers Memorial Day, the OSEH program celebrated with a webinar event kicked off by Matt Olphin, graduate of the OSHM program and MU’s Secretary of the Alumni Association board. Dr. Len Litowitz gave a historical overview as AEST Chair and Senior Faculty.  President Daniel Wubah attended and provided welcoming remarks.  Jack Ogutu, Ph.D., CSP introduced the first keynote speaker, John Howard, MD, MPH, JD, Director of National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). Dr. Howard’s presentation is titled, Future of Work.

Following the keynote, a construction safety panel discussion was moderated by Betty-Jo Bowers, Ph.D., CSP including a group of advisory board members, industry professionals, and a student. The panel discussion focused on the new construction safety course. OSEH 222 Construction Safety was officially offered for the first time in the Fall 2020.

Two breakout sessions were available. The first breakout session included Maryann M. D’Alessandro, PhD, Director HHS (CDC) (NIOSH) with a presentation on COVID-19 Impact on the National Respirator Landscape. Linda Tapp, CSP, CPTD, Occupational Safety Consultant, Speaker & Author facilitated A.R.T. and Safety Training: the importance of attention, retention and transfer in successful training programs. And Steven Schoolcraft, CSP, PE, VP SHE Parsons Corporation, with a discussion titled, Safety Leadership IS Leadership. 

The second breakout session included Millersvillebased safety consultant, Fred Straub, PhD, CEO Prospering Safely Consulting & former MU adjunct, illuminating his work researching High Risk, Lone Worker. OSEH alumni Duane Hagelgans, JD, The Center for Disaster Research and Education (CDRE) faculty member, presented on Disaster Management in a Safety World. And another MU OSHM alumni, Lori Santoli, CSP, Executive Director, North America, Environmental Affairs and Safety at Estee Lauder Companies Inc, presented Older Workforce Success Tips.

John Henshaw, Former U.S. Assistant Secretary of Labor and Director of OSHA provided the keynote address in the afternoon discussing Effective Leadership in Occupational Safety and Health. OSEH faculty member, Mehdi Khalighi, Ph.D., MPH, CSP, CIH introduced the ASSP student chapter board members and a group of Millersville University OSHM and OSEH alumni will told attendees some of their career highlights and transformative professional endeavors.  The event concluded with closing remarks by Paul Specht, Professor Emeritus (1985-2015).

A Zoom Social time ended up the day’s activities to allow alumni and attendees to circulate through different “zoom rooms” and virtually mingle with friends and faculty.  Amy Fasano, MPH, 1992 OSHM alumni and OSEH adjunct instructor, organized the event with a group of advisory board members, students, alumni, administration, and faculty. Special thanks to everyone who served for two years on the anniversary event planning committee including:

Matt Olphin, OSHM Alumni (1995) & Alumni Association representative
Chris Eberly (OSHM 1995), OSEH External Advisory Board Member
Steve Pomponi (OSHM 1989), OSEH External Advisory Board Member
Paul Specht, OSHM/OSEH Professor Emeritus
Nancy Adams, External Advisory Board Chairperson and MU alumni
Samantha Hackney, OSEH senior, ASSP Student Chapter President
Kelley Edmier, External Advisory Board Member
Betty-Jo Bowers, OSEH faculty

Appreciation for the expertise and support from:

Alice McMurry, Associate Vice President for Advancement and Gabrielle Buzgo, Interim Director of Alumni Engagement

And an OSEH Alumni group formed a sub-committee to plan the Zoom Social time activities:

Samantha Harsh, 2015
Dave Kirwood, 2015
Christina Leader, 2018
Helen Rush, 2018

Contributed by: Ms. Amy Fasano, MPH

Leave a Reply