This edition of Who Makes Millersville Special features Leroy McQueen Sr., a custodian with Millersville’s housekeeping staff for the past 18 years.


Leroy McQueen makes Millersville and Bard Hall special.


Q:  Tell us about your position at Millersville?

A:  I’m in housekeeping and have worked at every dorm on campus. Right now I’m in Bard and have been for the last 14 years.

Q:  Has your job changed at Millersville over the years?

A:  Not really; the job has been pretty much the same. When I first came, I went from dorm to dorm. Now I just stay in Bard.

Q:  Have you always lived in Pennsylvania? Where else have you lived? Where did you grow up?

A:  I’m originally from Fayetteville, North Carolina. I was born and raised there. My father brought us to Pennsylvania. After I came, I got married and settled down, and I’ve been here 40 years now.

Q:  What is the favorite part of your job?

A:   Everything. I like it all.  I have a good boss, and it’s a nice job.

Q:  What is the worst part of your job?

A:  When someone doesn’t show up for work to help out.

Q:  How does your job change in the summer?

A:  During the summer, when the kids go home, we do extra cleaning on the buildings. We also deal with the camps that use the facilities—we have to get ready for them. There is a large camp coming in, the Baptist church right after the kids go home this year, so we’ll be busy. They’ll be staying in Bard, Gilbert and Gaige.

Q:  The new residence hall project will eventually replace all of the old residence halls.  Would you like to be in a new building?

A:  I wouldn’t mind trying.

Q:  Do you have any hobbies or sports you participate in?

A:  I played a lot of basketball when I was younger. I still play, but not like I used to. Now I go bowling. I want to learn golf, and my son has tried to teach me, but I can’t hit that little ball. He took me to the driving range, and I swung hard and couldn’t see the ball—and there it was, still sitting there.

Q:  Do you enjoy watching sports?

A:  My son was an athlete and was in baseball, football and track, and I didn’t miss one game or one meet. I was able to make arrangement to see them all.

Q:  Do you have a favorite movie or TV show? 

A:  I watch “Sweetie Pie’s,” Saturday night at 9.

Q:  What is your favorite food?

A:  Fish.  And beef stew.

Q:  Have you had a mentor or hero that you’ve looked up to over the years?  Could you tell us about that person and why they are special to you?

A:  I always admired Michael Jordan, and I loved to watch him play basketball. He was always a good sportsman and a good person. He didn’t come across as if he was better than anybody else and treated everyone the same.

Q:  Tell us about your family.

A:  I have five children. My oldest son is a security officer in Florida; my oldest daughter is in N.C.; and my youngest son, Leroy Jr., and my youngest daughter live in Lancaster. Leroy Jr. has a local landscape business, and my daughter works for a doctor’s office in York. We lost one child, who died at birth. My mother is still living, and she and my sister still live in North Carolina, so we visit there frequently—at holidays and family reunions.

Q:  Where is your favorite place to vacation?

A:  Myrtle Beach is my favorite vacation spot. I go down and play in the sand, lay back. I love it.




This article has 5 comments

  1. Congrats Leroy.

  2. Leroy , congratulations being featured on Who Makes MU Special .

  3. Leroy Does a Fantastic job and is always making the residents laugh here in Bard! He is awesome!

  4. I’ll never forget our friendly exchanges in the morning my freshman year (10-11). He always had a huge smile on his face.

  5. luv seein’ that big ‘ole smile on Leroy, he does take care of the family!

Leave a comment